RESEARCH


Research and development on the use of bio-based raw materials in the agricultural sector

Every year around 1,800 million tons of liquid manure are produced in Europe. Land use of slurry, fermentation residues from biogas plants and other agricultural residues provide agricultural soil with valuable organic matter and essential nutrients that help meet plant nutrient needs and maintain soil fertility. In areas with intensive livestock farming, however, land use is not always possible due to the already high nutrient content of the soil.

Pilot plant for processing livestock manure: Pig manure has a high water content of 90 percent; other components are valuable plant nutrients, above all nitrogen and phosphorus, as well as indigestible feedstocks such as plant fibers. In the BioEcoSIM project, various processes for converting the components of livestock manure into high-quality fertilisers were developed and integrated as separate modules in a single pilot plant. This makes it possible to treat the fertiliser directly at the point of origin. This works with superheated steam in a closed system and thus achieves high energy efficiency. Microorganisms are completely destroyed. If necessary, the dried organic components are converted into organic biochar at over 300 ºC by a pyrolysis process in an atmosphere of superheated steam, as in the drying step.

For more information please visit the website of our technology partner – Fraunhofer Institute.



www.bioecosim.eu

Reduced water and energy consumption in milk processing

The dairy industry is an important sector of the food industry with a turnover of EUR 124.3 billion and a value added of EUR 17.4 billion p.a. It is a high energy and water consumer, both overall and per unit production. 98 % of the fresh water used has drinking water quality. 80 % of the energy consumption is used for process heat, pasteurisation, sterilisation, drying and cleaning.

At EnReMilk, case studies show energy savings of at least 20 % and water savings of at least 30 % that are reproducible in both SMEs and larger dairies. Emerging and novel engineering technologies are optimised and implemented in key dairy operations to ensure significant and simultaneous water and energy savings while ensuring food quality and safety.

For more information please visit the website of our technology partner – Fraunhofer Institute.


www.enremilk.eu

Non-thermal processes in wine production

to reduce or avoid sulphides or other preservatives in wine.

The PreserveWine project provided high quality scientific and technical information on a novel non-thermal process called Pressure Change Technology (PCT). This process is a non-thermal preservation method to prolong the shelf life of liquid foods. In the case of wine, the process allows the reduction of sulphite addition, which is commonly used to inactivate yeasts and microbial spoilage.

PCT generally uses the higher solubility of gases under pressure. The main advantages of this technology are that the heat unstable components, colour and taste remain unchanged and the amount of oxygen in the wine is significantly reduced to avoid oxidation. The consortium of the PreserveWine-DEMO project aims to increase the scope and impact of the research results obtained in the previous project and to transfer the PCT technology to an industrial scale. To achieve this goal, process demonstration at industrial sites is required to confirm long-term performance, operating costs and profitability.

 


Information about this research project can be obtained from our technology partner – Fraunhofer Institute.



www.preservewine.fraunhofer.eu

Conversion of agricultural residues into stable raw materials for biochemical and bioenergy use.

The overall concept of SteamBio is to create a commercially viable platform that can stabilize biomass materials close to the source for subsequent biochemical and bioenergy use. The platform will be scalable and will enable both mobile deployment according to seasonal requirements and fixed location for high throughput.

The core technology is the use of superheated steam. Superheated steam is an efficient heat transfer medium used on an industrial scale in drying applications. On a pilot scale, it has proved successful to convert various biomass materials into hydrophobic and grindable solids with the additional benefit of extracting volatile compounds as by-products. The continuous technology platform for hot steam processing in SteamBio is scalable and has proven itself on an industrial scale with temperatures up to 300 °C. The continuous technology platform for hot steam processing in SteamBio is scalable and technically proven on an industrial scale with temperatures up to 300 °C.

SteamBio overcomes many of the limitations of existing torrefaction approaches, with all exits clean and unpolluted by exhaust fumes, allowing for maximum value recovery and minimal environmental impact..


www.steambio.eu

FORSCHUNG


Forschung und Entwicklung zum Einsatz von biobasierten Rohstoffen im Agrarsektor

Jedes Jahr werden in Europa rund 1.800 Millionen Tonnen Gülle produziert. Landanwendung von Gülle, Gärresten aus Biogasanlagen und anderen landwirtschaftlichen Rückständen beliefern landwirtschaftlichen Boden mit wertvollen organischen Stoffen und essentiellen Nährstoffen, die dazu beitragen, den Nährstoffbedarf der Pflanzen zu decken und die Bodenfruchtbarkeit zu erhalten. In Gebieten mit intensiver Viehhaltung ist die Landnutzung jedoch wegen des bereits hohen Nährstoffgehalts des Bodens nicht immer möglich.

Pilotanlage zur Verarbeitung von Viehdung: Schweinegülle hat einen hohen Wassergehalt von 90 Prozent; weitere Bestandteile sind wertvolle Pflanzennährstoffe, vor allem Stickstoff und Phosphor, sowie unverdauliche Einsatzstoffe wie Pflanzenfasern. Im BioEcoSIM-Projekt wurden verschiedene Verfahren zur Umwandlung der Bestandteile von Viehdung in hochwertige Düngemittel entwickelt und als separate Module in einer einzigen Pilotanlage integriert. Dadurch ist es möglich, den Dünger direkt am Entstehungsort zu behandeln. Dies funktioniert mit überhitztem Dampf in einem geschlossenen System und erreicht dadurch eine hohe Energieeffizienz. Mikroorganismen werden dabei vollständig zerstört. Gegebenenfalls werden die getrockneten organischen Komponenten bei über 300ºC durch einen Pyrolyseprozess - in einer Atmosphäre von überhitztem Dampf, wie im Trocknungsschritt - in organische Biokohle umgewandelt.

Informationen erhalten Sie bei unserem Technologiepartner - dem Fraunhofer Institut


www.bioecosim.eu

Reduzierter Wasser- und Energieverbrauch in der Milchverarbeitung

Die Milchindustrie ist ein wichtiger Sektor der Lebensmittelindustrie mit einem Umsatz von 124,3 Milliarden Euro und einer Wertschöpfung von 17,4 Milliarden Euro p.a. Sie ist ein hoher Energie- und Wasserverbraucher, sowohl insgesamt als auch pro Stückproduktion. 98% des eingesetzten Frischwassers hat Trinkwasserqualität. 80% des Energieverbrauchs wird für Prozesswärme, Pasteurisierung, Sterilisation, Trocknung und Reinigung verbraucht.

Bei EnReMilk werden in Fallstudien Energieeinsparungen von mindestens 20% und eine Wassereinsparung von mindestens 30% erzielt, die sowohl in KMU als auch in größeren Molkereien reproduzierbar sind. Aufkommende und neuartige Engineering-Technologien werden in wichtigen Molkereibetrieben optimiert und implementiert, um eine signifikante und gleichzeitige Einsparung von Wasser und Energie zu gewährleisten und gleichzeitig die Qualität und Sicherheit von Lebensmitteln sicherzustellen.


Informationen erhalten Sie bei unserem Technologiepartner - dem Fraunhofer Institut

www.enremilk.eu

Nicht-thermische Verfahren in der Weinproduktion

zur Verringerung bzw. Vermeidung von Sulfiden oder anderen Konservierungsstoffen im Wein.

Das Projekt PreserveWine lieferte qualitativ hochwertige wissenschaftliche und technische Informationen über einen neuartigen nichtthermischen Prozess namens "Pressure Change Technology (PCT)". Bei diesem Verfahren handelt es sich um eine nichtthermische Konservierungsmethode zur Verlängerung der Haltbarkeit von flüssigen Lebensmitteln. Im Falle von Wein erlaubt das Verfahren die Reduktion von 
Sulfitzusatz, der üblicherweise zur Inaktivierung von Hefen und mikrobiellem Verderb verwendet wird.

PCT nutzt im Allgemeinen die höhere Löslichkeit von Gasen unter Druck. Die Hauptvorteile dieser Technologie sind, dass die hitzelabilen Bestandteile, die Farbe und der Geschmack unverändert bleiben und die Menge an Sauerstoff im Wein erheblich reduziert wird, um seine Oxidation zu vermeiden. Das Konsortium des Projekts PreserveWine-DEMO zielt darauf ab, den Umfang und die Wirkung der im vorangegangenen

Informationen zu diesem Forschungsprojekt erhalten Sie bei unserem Technologiepartner - dem Fraunhofer Institut


www.preservewine.fraunhofer.eu

Umwandlung von landwirtschaftlichen Reststoffen in stabile Rohstoffe für biochemische- und Bioenergienutzung.

Das Gesamtkonzept von SteamBio besteht darin, eine kommerziell realisierbare Plattform zu schaffen, die Biomasse-Materialien nahe an der Quelle für nachfolgende biochemische und Bioenergienutzung stabilisieren kann. Die Plattform wird skalierbar sein und sowohl die mobile Bereitstellung gemäß den saisonalen Anforderungen als auch den festen Standort für hohe Durchsätze ermöglichen.

Die Kerntechnologie ist der Einsatz von überhitztem Dampf. Überhitzter Dampf ist ein effizientes Wärmeträgermedium, das in industriellen Maßstäben bei Trocknungsanwendungen eingesetzt wird. Es hat sich im Pilotmaßstab bewährt, verschiedene Biomasse-Materialien in hydrophobe und mahlbare Feststoffe zu überführen mit dem Zusatznutzen flüchtigen Verbindungen als Nebenstrom zu gewinnen. Die kontinuierliche Technologieplattform für die Heißdampfverarbeitung in SteamBio ist skalierbar und hat sich im industriellen Maßstab mit Temperaturen von bis zu 300 ° C technisch bewährt.

SteamBio überwindet viele der Einschränkungen bestehender Torrefaction-Ansätze, wobei alle Ausgänge sauber und nicht durch Abgase verunreinigt sind, was eine maximale Werterholung und minimale Umweltauswirkungen ermöglicht.



www.steambio.eu